Rugby World Cup 2027


The 2027 Men’s Rugby World Cup is set to be the eleventh edition of this prestigious tournament, which takes place every four years, featuring the world’s best men’s rugby union teams. Scheduled to be held in Australia from 1 October to 13 November 2027, the tournament promises thrilling matches and unforgettable moments. The reigning champions, South Africa, will defend their title after a narrow 12ÔÇô11 victory over New Zealand in the 2023 final.

Expansion and Format Changes

In a significant development, the Rugby World Cup will expand from 20 to 24 teams in 2027. This decision, confirmed on 24 October 2023, aims to foster the growth of rugby globally, inspired by the impressive performances of emerging nations such as Chile and Portugal in the 2023 tournament. Alan Gilpin, the chief executive of World Rugby, highlighted the positive impact of expanding the competition, emphasizing the encouraging showings by lower-ranked teams.

The format will undergo notable changes to accommodate the additional teams. The group stage will now feature six pools of four teams each, with an extra round in the knockout phase to ensure a comprehensive competition.


Nine venues across seven cities in Australia are set to host the matches, offering diverse and iconic settings for the tournament:

  • Sydney, New South Wales
    • Stadium Australia (Homebush, Capacity: 82,000)
    • Sydney Football Stadium (Moore Park, Capacity: 42,500)
  • Newcastle, New South Wales
    • Newcastle International Sports Centre (Capacity: 30,000)
  • Melbourne, Victoria
    • Docklands Stadium (Capacity: 53,343)
    • Melbourne Rectangular Stadium (Capacity: 30,050)
  • Adelaide, South Australia
    • Adelaide Oval (Capacity: 53,500)
  • Perth, Western Australia
    • Perth Stadium (Capacity: 65,000)
  • Brisbane, Queensland
    • Lang Park (Capacity: 52,500)
  • Townsville, Queensland
    • North Queensland Stadium (Capacity: 25,000)

Qualified Teams

A total of 12 teams have secured their spots by finishing in the top three of their pools in the 2023 Rugby World Cup. These teams are:

RegionTeamQualification MethodPrevious AppsPrevious Best ResultWorld Rugby Ranking┬╣
AfricaSouth AfricaTop 3 in 2023 RWC pool8Champions (1995, 2007, 2019, 2023)
AsiaJapanTop 3 in 2023 RWC pool10Quarter-finals (2019)
EuropeEnglandTop 3 in 2023 RWC pool10Champions (2003)
FranceTop 3 in 2023 RWC pool10Runners-up (1987, 1999, 2011)
IrelandTop 3 in 2023 RWC pool10Quarter-finals (eight times)
ItalyTop 3 in 2023 RWC pool10Pool stage (ten times)
ScotlandTop 3 in 2023 RWC pool10Fourth place (1991)
WalesTop 3 in 2023 RWC pool10Third place (1987)
OceaniaAustraliaHosts10Champions (1991, 1999)
FijiTop 3 in 2023 RWC pool9Quarter-finals (1987, 2007, 2023)
New ZealandTop 3 in 2023 RWC pool10Champions (1987, 2011, 2015)
South AmericaArgentinaTop 3 in 2023 RWC pool10Third place (2007)

Qualification for Remaining Teams

The remaining teams will qualify through regional competitions and a series of global playoff matches. This system ensures that the most competitive teams from around the world have the opportunity to participate in the tournament, adding to the diversity and excitement of the event.

The 2027 Rugby World Cup in Australia is set to be a landmark event, with expanded participation and a dynamic new format. Fans worldwide eagerly await this celebration of rugby excellence.