Annually held in February and March, the Six Nations Championship is a cornerstone of international rugby, featuring men’s national teams from England, Scotland, France, Wales, Ireland, and Italy. This illustrious tournament, previously known as the Five Nations until its expansion in 1999, has been a fixture in the rugby calendar, drawing fans from across the globe to witness the sport’s highest levels of rivalry and camaraderie.

Renamed the Guinness Six Nations in 2019 due to sponsorship agreements, its nomenclature has evolved over the years, transitioning from NatWest Six Nations in 2018, through various titles sponsored by RBS, Lloyds TSB, back to its original moniker of the Five Nations Championship, and initially, the Home Nations Championship. This last title was given to the tournament when it began in 1882, solely involving the British Isles’ nations until France’s inclusion in 1910 and later Italy in 2000, marking it as the Northern Hemisphere’s premier international rugby competition.

With 39 triumphs each by 2021, England and Wales lead in championship victories. The coveted Grand Slam is awarded to a team defeating all competitors in a single tournament, a feat of dominance and skill. Additionally, the Triple Crown honors the British Isles’ team that outscores the other three, fostering a unique subset of rivalry within the larger contest.

Wales emerged as the latest champion and Grand Slam winner in 2021, a testament to their prowess and the championship’s competitive nature. Beyond the men’s event, the Six Nations also boasts a women’s tournament since 1996 and an under-20 competition introduced in 2008, emphasizing the sport’s inclusivity and growth. The term “Six Nations” typically denotes the original, senior men’s tournament, with specific mentions of “men’s” or “senior” employed to distinguish it from the women’s or junior competitions.

  1. Six Nations Championship (Since 1883 as Home Nations, 1910 as Five Nations, and 2000 as Six Nations): This is the main tournament involving the national men’s teams of England, Scotland, France, Wales, Ireland, and Italy. It is played annually, and the team that accumulates the most points in the standings is crowned champion.
  2. Grand Slam (Since 1883): Awarded to the team that manages to defeat all its opponents during a Six Nations Championship edition. It’s a prestigious achievement that demonstrates absolute dominance in the tournament.
  3. Triple Crown (Since 1883): An award exclusive to the four United Kingdom nations (England, Scotland, Wales, and Ireland). It is given to the team that defeats the other three island teams in the same tournament edition.
  4. Calcutta Cup (Since 1879): A trophy contested only between England and Scotland as part of their Six Nations match-ups. Originally played separately, it was integrated into the tournament upon its inception.
  5. Millennium Trophy (Since 1988): Awarded to the winner of the match between England and Ireland. It was introduced to commemorate Dublin’s millennium in 1988.
  6. FFR Centenary Trophy (Since 2000): Awarded to the winner of the match between France and Scotland. It was established to celebrate the centenary of the French Rugby Federation.
  7. Giuseppe Garibaldi Trophy (Since 2007): Given to the winner of the match between France and Italy. It was instituted in memory of the 200th anniversary of the birth of Giuseppe Garibaldi, a hero to both French and Italians.
  8. Wooden Spoon: Although not a “trophy” in the traditional sense, it humorously refers to the team that finishes last in the tournament, especially if they fail to win any matches.
  9. Women’s Six Nations Championship (Since 1996): Parallel to the men’s tournament, this championship involves the women’s teams of the same six nations, promoting women’s rugby at the highest level.
  10. Under-20s Six Nations Tournament (Since 2008): Provides a platform for the future stars of rugby from these six nations to compete and gain international experience at an early age.

By admin