There are several rugby competitions worldwide, ranging from local levels to elite international tournaments. Some of the notable competitions include:

  1. Rugby Union:
  • Six Nations Championship: Involves teams from England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland, and Wales.
  • Rugby Championship: Southern Hemisphere tournament involving teams such as New Zealand, Australia, South Africa, and Argentina.
  1. Rugby League:
  • Super League: The professional rugby league competition in the UK and France.
  • NRL (National Rugby League): The premier rugby league competition in Australia.
  1. Club Tournaments:
  • European Rugby Champions Cup: Club rugby union tournament involving teams from across Europe.
  • Super Rugby: International club competition in rugby union involving teams from New Zealand, Australia, South Africa, Argentina, and Japan.
  1. International Tournaments:
  • Rugby World Cup: In both rugby union and rugby league, this is the most prestigious international event.
  • Sevens World Series: Worldwide rugby sevens competition.
  1. Regional Competitions:
  • Various regional leagues and tournaments worldwide, such as the Currie Cup in South Africa, Mitre 10 Cup in New Zealand, and Top 14 in France.
  1. National Leagues:
  • Each country usually has its own national rugby union and rugby league leagues.
  1. Women’s Tournaments:
  • There are female versions of many mentioned tournaments, including the Women’s Rugby World Cup and women’s rugby sevens tournaments.

These are just some of the well-known competitions, and the number of tournaments can vary by region and level of play. Additionally, numerous tournaments and friendly matches are organized throughout the year at different levels.